Till innehåll på sidan

Content Knowledge

 The acquisition of knowledge is important within the PYP. However, the PYP model doesn't allow for a just teaching a body of knowledge alone but should accompany concepts and skill development, among other things, alongside the explored information in the classroom.

The Unit of Inquiry (UOI) is the central focus for teaching and learning in the PYP classroom. As a result, most language instruction, personal social and physical education, and all social and natural science instruction happen within the context of the UOI. Where applicable and relevant other subjects are woven into the UOIs as well. Mathematics, for example, tends to be both incorporated into a unit and taught independent of the UOI.

The curriculum is aligned with the IBPYP scope and sequence documents for each subject area and the Swedish national curriculum. The subjects taught are language, mathematics, social studies, science, personal and physical education, visual art, music and Swedish. PYP1 to PYP5 are offered Swedish lessons 2x45min/week.

Program of Inquiry

A comprehensive table of all the units of inquiry for each of the 6 transdiciplinary themes. Each year level studies the same 6 transdiciplinary themes with a unique focus for each year level.

Language Scope and Sequence

A systematic explanation of the areas of study for language development including reading, writing, understanding and communicating language. This document is organized in areas of development and in phases, which acknowledges that children are constantly evolving and can be at any number of levels at any given period of their lives. It is important to note that the phases do not correspond to grade levels.

The four sub categories for language development:

  • Oral language-listening and speaking
  • Visual language-viewing and presenting
  • Written language-reading
  • Written language-writing

Mathematics Scope and Sequence

Similar to the language scope and sequence, the math scope and sequence document outlines the sub areas of development within mathematics. There are sub categories which children progress through and each sub category has 4 phases that the child will move through progressively as they move through the PYP. It is important to note that the phases do not correspond to grade levels.

The five sub categories of math understanding:

  • Data handling
  • Measurement
  • Shape and space
  • Pattern and function
  • Number